Guidance on the Independent Assessment of Professionals Skills for HSST trainees

Last Updated: 26th March 2021

This guidance provides details on the different elements of the HSST final assessment.

Purpose of the IAPS

The assessment strategy for all trainees on the Higher Specialist Scientist Training (HSST) programme includes the delivery of an independent review of trainees’ professional and scientific skills at Consultant Clinical Scientist (CCS) level. The assessment is independent from the workplace-based colleagues who have supervised and assessed the trainee throughout the HSST programme.

Life Sciences HSST trainees are required to gain Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists (FRCPath) by succeeding on Parts 1 and 2 examinations as components of their programme. These will fulfil the function of an independent check on their skills.

For trainees on the Physical Sciences, Bioinformatics and Physiological Sciences programmes, the IAPS will serve as the independent review of their skills at Consultant Clinical Scientist level, mapped against the five domains of the Standards of Proficiency (SoP) for Higher Specialist Scientists:

  1. Professional Practice
  2. Scientific Practice
  3. Clinical Practice
  4. Research, Development and Innovation
  5. Clinical Leadership

These trainees will prepare to showcase their evidence under each domain for their assessment. Oversight for the IAPS for each specialty will be provided by the Lead Examiner who has been appointed with reference to the specialty’s professional body.