Overview of the Clinical Data Science programme

Find out more about the content of the PG Cert in Clinical Data Science


The programme is comprised of the following units:

  • Data engineering
  • Maths, stats, and machine learning
  • Human factors and digital transformation
  • Data visualisation and communication

The initial four modules will cover the topics outlined in the table below:

Data engineering
  • data engineering/wrangling
  • missing data
  • structured/unstructured
  • databases and other data sources
Maths/stats and machine learning
  • fundamental maths
  • statistics
  • machine learning models
  • programming
Human factors and digital transformation
  • requirement gathering
  • co-design/UCD
  • evaluation
  • digital transformation and implementation
Data visualisation and communication
  • data visualisations
  • communicating data
  • decision support systems/dashboards

All units can be taken as CPD and can be taken in any order.

Read more about the programme on the University of Manchester website.

View the University of Manchester’s more detailed guide to the programme.

The full PG Cert programme began in September 2023 when NHS England funded a significant number of places on the PG Cert for staff working in, or delivering services to, the NHS in England.

NHS England expects to continue to commission and to fund places on a Clinical Data Science PG Cert from 2024 onwards.

Applications for funded places on the autumn 2024 intake of the PG Cert are now open and will close at 17.00 on May 14 2024.

Read more about the application process for 2024.

Last updated on 15th April 2024