Universities that offer the HSST

Details of the universities that deliver the academic portion of the Higher Specialist Scientist Training programme.


The Doctorate in Clinical Science (DClinSci), provided by the Manchester Academy for Healthcare Scientist Education (MAHSE), is the academic component of the Higher Specialist Scientist Training programme.

For the delivery of the DClinSci, MAHSE consists of:

  • The University of Manchester
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • The University of Liverpool
  • Aston University

The DClinSci is awarded by the individual university responsible for the learner’s scientific specialism.

University Specialties
The University of Manchester Life Sciences

  • Analytical Toxicology
  • Clinical Biochemistry
  • Clinical Immunogenetics
  • Genetics
  • Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Pathology of Infection
  • Virology

Physiological Sciences

  • Audiological Science
  • Gastrointestinal and Urological Sciences

Clinical Bioinformatics

  • Genomics
  • Physical Sciences
  • Health Informatics
Manchester Metropolitan University Life Sciences

  • Haematology
  • Molecular Pathology of Acquired Disease
  • Reproductive Science

Physiological Sciences

  • Cardiac Science
  • Neurophysiology
  • Respiratory and Sleep Physiology
  • Vascular Science
The University of Liverpool Physical Sciences

  • Clinical Biomedical Engineering
  • Medical Physics
Aston University Physiological Sciences

  • Ophthalmic and Vision Sciences

Last updated on 20th December 2022